Overthinking

I used to be in my head aaallll the time, all the time!

Thinking about past conversations, future conversations, what I said, what I should’ve said.

Thinking about how I should be feeling, how I should be acting, what are other people thinking, what are they thinking of me…

All this thinking drove me nuts! And I just wanted to stop thinking, get out of my head and just feel. I remember thinking to myself (haha) “I just want to feel, I just want to be present and feel.”

Now this required getting out of my head and this was what was scary. Because when we live in our heads even though there is pain, there is also comfort, familiarity, and ‘safety’. Even though we’re fearful and worrying, we feel safe being fearful and worrying because we’re constantly running over every little thing of how life ‘might’ happen and we feel somewhat prepared.

That is all worrying does for us, it has us feel like we are somewhat prepared for the uncertainty that lies ahead, that’s it. So there is a pay-off, there always is.

So the question is, how to get out of your head?

It starts with trusting yourself and backing yourself. Trusting that everything will be okay and that you can handle whatever happens, and backing yourself in doing the do, taking action.

~sidenote~ You can always handle what life brings your way.  It’s not that you can’t handle something, it’s that you don’t want to have to. And if you don’t want to do anything about life then don’t expect life to do anything for you. What you put out is what you get back.

Now choosing trust is CHOOSING trust. IT IS A CHOICE. And you’re currently choosing fear and doubt so why not try something else?

So why not take a chance on trust?
Why not give it a try?
Why not back yourself?

Because sometimes we can fail at something we don’t want, so why not try doing something you love?

Source: Anxiety Taskforce with Andrew Pearce

One thought on “Overthinking

Leave a Reply

